YetAnotherForum
Welcome Guest Active Topics | Log In | Register

New password farming technique Options
Lock
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 06, 2010 8:42:20 PM
Rank: Co leader


Joined: 5/31/2006
Posts: 1,904
Location: England
I received several emails tonight informing me of my suspension from wow. They have been worded quite well - do not click the link in the spoiler or enter your details into it - you have been warned! - although now I have clicked on it it Google Chrome shows it as a phishing site.



The difference being that these were intentionally designed to circumvent my spam filters and they did so. They concerned me enough to ask for myself and alts to be demoted until I could figure out the truth. I just thought I would post to keep you all on your toes and watch out for crap like this (unless ofc I really have been suspended :P)
//Goli

and then steal the gbank

Cronos
#2 Posted : Saturday, March 06, 2010 9:49:09 PM

Rank: Pirate


Joined: 11/27/2006
Posts: 418
Location: England
glad that i never use my email account
Myokoto
#3 Posted : Monday, March 08, 2010 2:56:28 PM
Rank: Groupie


Joined: 1/4/2008
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands
Test one before you click is of course: Are you actually suspended? :D
Jogri
#4 Posted : Monday, March 08, 2010 3:03:53 PM

Rank: Gnomish High Rank of Spectacularity


Joined: 10/2/2006
Posts: 1,745
Location: Sweden
slightly off topic but I discovered something similar when I logged on Arathor.net last night.
I had a mail from the 15th februari saying that the website had detected a virus on my computer and giving me a link to somewhere where my pc would be searched/cleaned from any virus.

Funny thing though as I, afaik, never logged on there between december until march o.O
Diacide
#5 Posted : Monday, March 08, 2010 3:50:20 PM

Rank: Gnomish High Rank of Spectacularity

Joined: 11/11/2006
Posts: 1,190
Location: Denmark
the easy way to spot this is the link they send, and dont look at the text but the link in your bottom bar in your browser

http://www .battle-logins...om/account/&app=wam
this one say, battle-logins

unless it say
www.battle.net/
www.worldofwarcraft.com/
its fake

if you recive something like this and is uncertian. talk to a ingame GM
and if you can log into your game, your are not suspended :)
Grimage
#6 Posted : Monday, March 08, 2010 3:56:15 PM

Rank: Gnomish High Rank of Spectacularity



Joined: 4/22/2006
Posts: 6,484
Location: In your toilet
Nuubs... Big Smile 1
Belowzero
#7 Posted : Monday, March 08, 2010 7:39:22 PM
Rank: Groupie



Joined: 10/20/2009
Posts: 247
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
I don't trust any of those mails. I get about 3 of em every day. If Blizzard does ban me I'll know when I can't log in and it says "Account suspended".
Blasphemy
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 7:42:55 AM
Rank: Groupie



Joined: 7/10/2009
Posts: 163
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
I dont think Blizzard would send out a warning to a player that a suspension/ban is "awaiting confirmation from a specialist."
reika
#9 Posted : Friday, March 12, 2010 8:10:09 AM
Rank: Someone stole my punctuation!


Joined: 1/3/2006
Posts: 229
o my god they hack my hotmail had to rest it but i have scan my pc cant find anything they use my hotmail to send fake blizz scam
reika lv80 priest arathor
Gabrielle lv 80 warlock arathor
buffý lv 80 shaman
xená lv 66 DK
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

SoClean Theme By Jaben Cargman (Tiny Gecko)
Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2009, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.140 seconds.